个人项目 - 货币设计

currency designs

这是我制作的一套未来风格的货币设计,包含一整套纸币,硬币,信用卡,ID卡和IC卡。在这个项目里,每人都要为一个特定的国家设计货币,我被分配的国家是澳大利亚。这个项目是设定在未来的2146年,由于严重的气候变化和海平面上升,地球上的许多生命形式已经灭绝。澳大利亚居民决定在海底建造圆顶状的城市,以延续人类的生命,并在这片荒芜的土地上找到另一个“伊甸园”。当最后一批人终于在海底都市安顿下来时,the Bank of Meldelaide ( “Melbourne & Adelaide”的缩写)决定发行一套新的货币,称为“遗产系列”,以纪念物种的消失,以及由动物带来的灵感所创造的发明,并展示它们如何融入新时期的海洋生活。

软件:Adobe Photoshop、Adobe Illustrator。

该网站是使用了Bootstrap和Dreamweaver,由我自己独立搭建的。

 

个人项目 - SoUnder APP

welcome page 1
welcome page 2
home page
new pin
map page
discover page

音乐不仅存在于地上,也同样存在于地下。如今,街头表演和街头艺术已经成为一个城市的重要特征之一。基于这个概念,我创造了一个叫做”SoUnder“的APP (“sound under”的缩写)。SoUnder是一个主要面向纽约街头表演者的社交式移动应用程序。它为街头艺人们提供了一个展示自己作品的平台,并邀请用户与自己喜爱的街头艺人建立联系。它还考察了互联网,街头表演者和纽约这个大都市之间的关系:互联网作为一个线上的公共空间,与城市这个线下的公共空间的关系,以及它们之间如何相互促进并成长。

软件:Adobe Illustrator、Adobe Xd、Figma

 

动态网站 - The Dream Collector

2021925-110830.jpg

The Dream Collector (梦境收集器)是一个小组设计项目,目的是设计一个完整的动态网站。我在这个项目中负责后端开发部分,负责用PHP,Fat-free Framework和MySql制作各种功能的数据库和后端程序,功能包括登录和注册、图像上传、语音信息上传等,将用户输入的数据存储到数据库中并呈现 在HTML 页面上。同时,我支持视觉设计师确定网页的整体风格,排版及字体选择,并与前端开发人员整合不同的代码,debug,确保动态网站的完整性。

 

The Dream Collector是记录和分享梦境的互动式网站。创建账户后,用户将在宇宙中创建自己的星球,这个星球就代表用户账户本身。与以往的梦境记录网站不同,我们的网站采用了一种DIY的方式来鼓励用户记录梦境。当用户记下一个梦境时,他们首页的星球上就会出现一棵外星植物,这个植物就代表了他们的梦。点击这个植物,该用户及其他用户便可以查看这个梦境。我们通过视觉和听觉的方式帮助每一个用户回忆他们的梦,每个梦都会被归类到不同的标签下,方便用户整理。用户记录的梦境越多,他们的星球就会越丰富,就像在星球上植树一样。用户还可以通过点击宇宙里的不同星球,探索他人的梦境并结交更多”梦友“。

软件:PhpStorm、DreamWeaver、Cinema 4D 

 

个人项目 - GIRLS 

motion graphic character
motion graphic character

GIRLS是一個創造動態圖形風格角色的實驗。本項目研究和研究了女性在時尚中的歷史角色。注意到 ELLE、VOGUE 和 Blackpink 等出版物中女性氣質的想法如何滲透到主流社會。這件作品的靈感也來自於我與世界時尚之都紐約的密切聯繫。另一個催化劑是走在紐約的街道上,觀察人們穿著過多的風格並發出風格化的聲音,所有這些都激發了這件作品的靈感。

應用了各種對比色,如紅色和綠色、黃色和紫色。我只用顏色畫畫。這四個角色也由簡單的幾何形狀組成(例如圓形作為他們的頭、頭髮、耳朵和臉頰;圓柱作為他們的手臂或腿,矩形作為他們的身體)。

軟件:Adobe Illustrator

 

個人項目 - 其他

我 2020 年投資組合的封面設計。這個想法是基於《歌劇魅影》中的名言——  “讓你的幻想放鬆”。氣泡代表我腦海中不斷湧現的想法。設計中使用了各種幾何形狀,例如圓形和三角形。

軟件:Photoshop

illustration
 
collage design

Never Close Your Eyes是一個藝術拼貼畫,探索點彩、線條和形狀,特別是它們如何創造界限並與女性主角互動。它還向我的設計靈感之一——孟菲斯風格致敬。孟菲斯風格是對 1970 年代設計風格的一種新鮮、大膽的方法。它採用了大膽的色彩和圖案,在觀眾中引起了主要是幽默、孩子氣的反應。受孟菲斯風格的啟發,利用原色、幾何形狀、波浪線和重複點圖案的組合來創造一種俏皮的印象。

正如這幅題為“永不閉上你的眼睛”的拼貼畫一樣,它是一種始終擁抱新奇並跳出框框思考的個人陳述——尤其是在當代設計風格出現並相互影響的現代時代。  

軟件:Adobe Illustrator、Photoshop

 
graphic design
graphic design

一組不同視覺藝術家的平面藝術案例研究,如 Malika Favre 和 Kate Moross。主題是“花”,以它們身體周圍的葉子和花瓣圖案為代表。沒有使用在水仙和鳶尾花中發現的傳統顏色;相反,應用了不尋常的顏色以在它們之間形成對比。我自己的照片被用作參考,我在 Photoshop 中創建了粗略的設計,操縱和吸引角色的角度、字體樣式和字距調整以獲得最佳可讀性。  

軟件:Photoshop

 
logo design
logo design
logo design
logo design

前兩個徽標是為了應對 365 天的設計挑戰而創建的,旨在為人們每天使用的單詞創建新的印刷徽標(由設計師 Liam & Jord 創立)。對於三角形,我旋轉了字母“T”以在其他字母上方創建三角形形狀,而對於跳躍,我在字母“J”和“P”上添加了兩個小“腳”,因此看起來這個詞是彈跳的從表面。這些徽標的設計也考慮了字距調整和空白。由於三角形是最穩定的形狀,因此字母之間的距離更近。 “跳躍”這個詞是為了傳達一種隨意和快樂的感覺。因此,每個字母進一步分離和鬆散。

第三個標誌是為我自己設計的。我想使用我的首字母 A 和 Z,但發現它們也是“藝術區”的縮寫,所以在這裡。

最後一件作品,為想法而畫,是我設計過程的一個主題代表。圖像中的鋼筆形狀像燈泡,代表思想。背景以柔和的顏色製作,使圖像和文字脫穎而出。當我畫畫時,我感覺好像想法直接從我的腦海中轉移到了紙上。對於這個項目來說也是如此。  

軟件:Adobe Illustrator

 

專業作品

poster design

為不同客戶設計的兩張海報,靈感來自於 Steven Harrington、Leta Sobierajski 和 Mike Perry 等藝術家。我獨立創作了插圖。左邊的海報旨在宣傳周六晚上在海港酒吧舉行的音樂活動。圖像的左上角描繪了戴著一副耳機的月亮,表明該事件發生在晚上並且與音樂有關。右邊的是博多拉麵酒吧的午餐時間促銷活動。 “麵條”這個詞被拉長了,看起來像是筷子在把麵條從碗裡拿出來。視覺層次結構、文本位置和插圖都進行了更改,以提高可讀性。我使用對比色,如黑色和白色,黑色和淺粉色,以達到最高水平的可讀性。兩張海報都採用了現代簡約的設計,以吸引城市成年觀眾。  

軟件:Adobe Illustrator、Photoshop

poster design
pattern
socks design
pattern
socks design
pattern
pattern
socks design
pattern
socks design
socks design
pattern
socks design
 

為一家為護士和其他醫療專業人員生產服裝的醫療服裝公司的襪子設計項目。

軟件:Photoshop

  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Vimeo
©版權所有

Personal Project - Currency Designs

currency designs

A series of futuristic currency designs created for a school project. Each student was assigned to design currencies for a specific country, and I was assigned to design currencies for Australia. The concept was that in the year 2146, many life forms on the Earth have been wiped out due to severe climate change and rising sea levels. The people of Australia decide to build domes across the ocean floor in order to continue mankind and find another "Garden of Eden" out of the ruined coastal land. When the last group of people has finally settled down in the oceanic cities, the Bank of Meldelaide (short for “Melbourne & Adelaide”) has decided to release new currencies, called “the heritage”, in order to memorize the loss of species, to celebrate the animal-inspired inventions, and to showcase how they were embedded in their daily oceanic lives.

Software: Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator.

The website was built by myself using Bootstrap and Dreamweaver.

 

Personal Project - SoUnder Social App 

welcome page 1
welcome page 2
home page
new pin
map page
discover page

Music does not only exist above ground, but also beneath it. These days, street performances and busking have become an important characteristic that defines a city. Based on this concept, the project, SoUnder (short for “sound under”), was created. SoUnder is an interactive mobile app targeted primarily at street performers. It provides a place for them to showcase their works and invites users to meet the street performers within different subway stations in New York. It also examines the relationship between street performers and one world’s renowned metropolitan, New York, the internet as an online public space, and how can they promote and grow with each other.

Software: Adobe Illustrator, Adobe Xd, Figma

 

Dynamic Website - The Dream Collector

2021925-110830.jpg

This is a group project of designing a dynamic website, on which I worked as a backend developer with PHP language and fat-free framework. I was responsible for designing database and backend programming for various functionalities including login and registration, image uploading, voice message uploading, to store them into the database and present them with the HTML pages. I supported the visual designer in setting up the tone for the site and connect with the front-end developer in integrating different codes and presenting the dynamic site.

 

Dream Collector is a multimedia website for recording and sharing dreams. Once you have created an account, you will be able to create your own planet within the universe. Unlike the typical dream recording websites, we introduce a "DIY" method. We help you recall your dreams visually and audibly by storing and writing down your dreams on your planet. Each dream will then be categorized under different tags, represented with a special plant. The more dreams you record, the richer your planet will be, which is like planting trees. You can also travel to other planets and explore their dreams by touching the planets on the universe.

Software: PhpStorm, DreamWeaver, Cinema 4D 

 

Personal Projects - GIRLS 

motion graphic character
motion graphic character

GIRLS was an experiment in creating motion graphic-style characters. The historical role of the female in fashion has been researched and studied for this project. Noting how the idea of femininity in publications such as ELLE, VOGUE, and Blackpink has permeated mainstream society. This work was also inspired by my close connection to New York, the fashion capital of the world. Another catalyst came when walking in the streets of New York, observing people dressed in a plethora of styles and putting on stylized voices, all of which served to inspire this piece of work.

A variety of contrasting colours such as red and green, yellow and purple were applied. I drew only with colours. The four characters also consist of simple geometric forms (e.g. circles as their heads, hair, ears, and cheeks; cylinders as their arms or legs and rectangles as their bodies).

Software: Adobe Illustrator

 

Personal Projects - Others

Cover design for my 2020 portfolio. The idea was based on the famous quote from The Phantom of the Opera -  "Let your fantasies unwind". The bubbles represent the ideas that continuously emanate from my mind. Various geometric shapes, such as circles and triangles, were used in the design.

Software: Photoshop

illustration
 
collage design

Never Close Your Eyes is an artistic collage that explores pointillism, lines, and shapes, specifically how they create boundaries and interact with the female protagonist. It also pays homage to one of my design inspirations - the Memphis Style. The Memphis Style was a fresh, emboldened approach to the design style of the 1970s. It employed bold colours and patterns, evoking predominantly humorous, childlike reactions in viewers. Inspired by the Memphis Style, a combination of primary colours, geometric shapes, wavy lines, and repeated dot patterns, was utilized to create a playful impression.

As this collage entitled, “Never Close Your Eyes” is a personal statement to always embrace novelty and think outside the box - especially relevant in this modern era when contemporary design styles emerge and interplay with one another. 

Software: Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop

 
 
logo design
logo design
logo design
logo design

The first two logos were created in response to a 365-day design challenge to create new typographic logos for words that people use every day (founded by designers Liam & Jord). For the triangle, I rotated the letter "T" to create the triangle shape above other letters, and for the jump, I added two little "feet" to the letters "J" and "P" so it appears that the word is springing from the surface. These logos were also designed with kerning and white space in mind. Since the triangle is the most stable shape, the letters are closer together. The word "jump" is meant to convey a casual and happy feeling. Therefore, each letter is further separated and loose.

The third logo is a design for myself. I thought about using my initials A and Z, but discovered that they are also short for "art zone", so here it is.

The final piece of work, draw for ideas, is a motif representative of my design process. The pen in the image is shaped like a light bulb, which represents ideas. The background was produced in pastel colours to make the image and the words stand out. When I draw, I feel as if ideas are being directly transferred from my mind to the paper. That holds true for this project. 

Software: Adobe Illustrator

graphic design
graphic design

A set of graphic arts case studies of various visual artists like Malika Favre and Kate Moross. The theme was “flowers”, represented by the leaf and petal patterns around their bodies. Traditional colours found within narcissus and iris flowers were not used; instead, unusual colours were applied in order to create contrasts between them. Photographs of my own were used as references, and I created rough designs in Photoshop, manipulating and engaging the angles, font styles, and kernings of the characters for the best readability.  

Software: Photoshop

 
 

Professional Work 2 - Logo Designs

Here are a set of 48 logos I designed for Win! Derby, a Vegas-style poker room based in St. Petersburg, Florida. My goal was to create a modern, beachy feeling for the logos, so there are many elements like coconut trees and poker cards involved in the designs.

Software: Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop

 

Professional Work 3 - Social Media Ads

Holiday sale images made for Mike Ritland Co, featuring their TeamDog products and dog training services. 

Software: Photoshop

 

Professional Work 4 - Illustrations for Website

Family Business
Family Business
press to zoom
Partnership between Len and a client
Partnership between Len and a client
press to zoom
Len's active, hands-on approach
Len's active, hands-on approach
press to zoom
A moment of success
A moment of success
press to zoom

A series of illustrations I did for Len Marsh, a San Francisco Bay Area Fractional Chief Financial Officer who wanted to add colour and interest to his new website. The illustrations consist of four different themes: 

1. Family business
Three people sitting at a table in a casual setting, dressed in casual attire. Two sit closer together (as if related) and one sits slightly apart advising them (as if Len). They are reviewing documents.

2. Partnership between Len and a client
Two people sitting at a table reviewing documents. One person (as if Len) is pointing to a paper, talking, and looking at the other person. The other person is listening and looking at the person talking.

3. Len’s active, hands-on approach
Len and a client on-site at a client’s business, work site, etc. They are standing together looking at a project. The client is pointing to a detail and Len is looking at where they are pointing intently.

4. A moment of success expressed between Len and a client
Two people shaking hands happily.

 

Software: Photoshop

Professional Work 1 - Poster Designs

poster design

Two of the poster designs for various clients, inspired by artists such as Steven Harrington, Leta Sobierajski, and Mike Perry. I created the illustrations independently. The poster on the left was designed to promote a Saturday night musical event at the Harbor Bar. The upper left corner of the image depicted a moon wearing a pair of headphones, indicating that the event occurs at night and is music-related. The one on the right was for a lunch hour promotion at Hakata Ramen Bar. The word “noodles” was stretched so it looks like the chopsticks are taking the noodles out of the bowl. The visual hierarchy, placement of the text, and illustrations were altered to improve legibility. I utilised contrasting colors, such as black and white, and black and light pink, in order to achieve the highest level of readability. A modern, simplistic design was applied to both posters to appeal to an urban, adult audience. 

Software: Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop

poster design
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Vimeo
Copyright © 2022 Yue Annie Zhu. All rights reserved.